We started the Poet Laureate program in 2011 to foster a deeper understanding and appreciation of poetry in Fort Collins. Each year we accept nominations from the public, and a panel of local poets and writers choose the top candidates which are then put to a public vote.

The Poet Laureate hosts free monthly workshops, readings, and other community events.

Please contact Todd Simmons (todd@wolverinefarm.org) for more information about this program.

2017 Fort Collins Poet Laureate

Thank you to everyone who nominated poets, voted, and continue to support poetry in Fort Collins. We received a bevy of incredibly talented and worthy nominees–keep them in mind when the time comes to nominate poets in 2018–and our so happy and proud to announce that, from that field, Felicia Zamora has been named the 2017 Fort Collins Poet Laureate!


Felicia Zamora

Felicia Zamora is the author of the books Of Form & Gather, winner of the 2016 Andrés Montoya Poetry Prize (University of Notre Dame Press), & in Open, Marvel (Parlor Press), and Instrument of Gaps (Slope Editions). Of Form & Gather was listed as one of the “9 Outstanding Latino Books Recently Published by Independent and University Presses” by NBC News. She won the 2015 Tomaž Šalamun Prize from Verse, and authored two chapbooks. Her published works may be found or forthcoming in Crazyhorse, Hotel Amerika, Indiana Review, jubilat, Meridian, North American Review, OmniVerse, Pleiades, Poetry Daily, Prairie Schooner, Sugar House Review, Tarpaulin Sky Magazine, The Cincinnati Review, The Georgia Review, The Michigan Quarterly, TriQuarterly Review, Tupelo Quarterly, Verse Daily, Witness Magazine, West Branch, and others. She is an associate poetry editor for the Colorado Review and holds an MFA in Creative Writing from Colorado State University. She lives in Fort Collins, CO with her partner Chris and their three dogs.

Visit Felicia’s website for more information about her and her work and stay tuned for the exciting projects that she and Wolverine Farm Publishing are working on together.




2016 Poet Laureate: Aby Kaupang

Chloe Leisure 2

2014/2015 Poet Laureate: Chloé Leisure

jason hardung

2013 Poet Laureate: Jason Hardung



2012 Poets Laureate: Matt Sage & Michael Bussman