We started the Poet Laureate program in 2011 to foster a deeper understanding and appreciation of poetry in Fort Collins. Each year we accept nominations from the public, and a panel of local poets and writers choose the top candidates which are then put to a public vote. The Poet Laureate hosts free monthly workshops, readings, and other community events. To be eligible, poets must live in Fort Collins, and be willing to serve the community in the name of poetry. Past poet laureates have held readings, published poems, visited schools, and led workshops. The current poet will serve from April 2018 to April 2020, and will be involved in the selection of the next poet laureate. The current poet received a $250 honorarium supported by the Jason Sheppard Greer and Lucy Kim Greer Foundation for the Arts.

Nominations for the 2020-2022 Fort Collins Poet Laureate are now open! Please submit the poet’s name, contact information, sample of their poetry, and why you think the poet will be a good fit for the poet laureate position. Wolverine Farm staff and volunteers will select three nominees from the entries, and open the nominations up to public vote.

Please send your entries to Todd Simmons at, or drop them off in person at Wolverine Farm’s Letterpress & Publick House by April 1st, 2020. Voting will take place during April, National Poetry Month. The winning poet will be announced the last week of April.

If you have any questions please call the Publick House at 970-682-2590 or email Todd Simmons at

2018-2020 Fort Collins Poet Laureate
Natalie Giarratano

Natalie Giarratano is the author of Big Thicket Blues (Sundress Publications, 2017) and Leaving Clean, winner of the 2013 Liam Rector First Book Prize in Poetry (Briery Creek Press, 2013). Her poems have appeared in Beltway Poetry, Tupelo Quarterly, Tinderbox, and American Literary Review, among others. She earned a Ph.D. in creative writing from WMU and is currently a mentor for AWP’s Writer to Writer Mentorship Program. She edits and lives in Fort Collins with her partner and daughter.

Previous Poets Laureate

2017 Felicia Zamora

2016 Aby Kaupang

2014-2015 Chloé Leisure

2013 Jason Hardung

2012 Michael Bussmann & Matt Sage